Enhancing Productivity: Accessibility Tools for Smoothly Switching Between Ubuntu and macOS

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Enhancing Productivity: Accessibility Tools for Smoothly Switching Between Ubuntu and macOS

Although I'm pleased with Ubuntu, I started to use macOS both to take an official exam and to benefit from the powerful hardware. Since I had become so accustomed to the productivity tools on Linux, I tried to find equivalents to switch smoothly between operating systems.

I wanted to share these tools with you below.

Enhancing Tools

  1. Karabiner Elements: Customize Your macOS Keyboard Shortcuts

    Karabiner-Elements helped me configure my custom keyboard shortcuts. With the assistance of this Mac keyboard shortcuts Apple support page, I found the native definitions and configured them. A good example of this is "Extending text selection to the beginning of the current word, then to the beginning of the following word if pressed again." I remapped this to Control and Shift, just as I originally used it. You can review my configurations at serdarsen/karabiner repository.

  2. AltTab: Bring Efficient Task Switching to macOS

    I keep three static desktops (workspaces) and switch between all apps and windows present on the current desktop. alt-tab-macos provides this behavior nicely.

  3. AutoRaise: Enhance Window Management by Automatically Focusing Windows on Hover

    When moving the mouse between the built-in display and an external display, it's so useful to be able to focus windows on hover with AutoRaise.

Installation

I used Homebrew and followed the installation instructions for the tools from their documentation.

Conclusion

Thank you for reading! I hope you have found this post helpful.